Annual Session 2022

The 21st Annual Academic Sessions of the Menopause Society of Sri Lanka (MENOSOC 2022) was held ceremonially on the 16th of October 2022 at the Galadari Hotel, Colombo, under the theme of “New Frontiers in Post-reproductive Health.”

Mr. Kunle Adeniyi, Country Representative of the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA), was honored as the Chief Guest, while Dr. Anil Jasinghe, Director General of Health Services, Sri Lanka, and Dr. Palitha Abeykoon, Former Chairmen of the National Authority on Tobacco and Alcohol in Sri Lanka, graced the occasion as Guests of Honour. Furthermore, Dr. Shobhana Mohandas, President of the Indian Menopause Society, Prof. Suchithra Pandith, Professor in Obstetrics and Gynecology in India, Dr. Hara Pattanaik, Consultant Obstetrician and Gynecologist in India, Brigadier General Dr. Suraiya Rahman, Vice President of the Bangladesh Menopause Society, and Prof. Rubina Hussain, President of Pakistan Menopause Society, also participated as special guests on this grand event.

Dr. M.D.P. Gooneratne, the founder president of Menopause Society of Sri Lanka (MSSL), Council members of MSSL including Dr. Hemantha Perera, Dr. (Mrs.) Marlene Abeywardena, Prof. W.I. Amarasinghe, Dr. Mangala Dissanayake, Prof. Piyusha Atapattu, Dr. Sanath Lanerolle, Dr. (Mrs.) Janakie Karunasighe, Dr. Dasanthi Akmeemana, Dr. Harsha Atapattu, Dr. Shiromali Dissanayake, Dr. Madura Jayawardena, Dr. Darshana Abeygunawardena, Dr. Sharada Jayalath, Dr. T. Kadotgajan, Dr. Champa Nelson, Dr. Chaminda Mathota, Dr. C.D. Ekanayake, Dr. M. Sathanandan, Dr. Ruwan Silva, Dr. U.G.Kariyawasam, Dr. Dilhara Samaraweeera, Dr. Diluk Senadheera, Dr. Thivanka Munasinghe, and other members of the society participated to grace the event. MENOSOC 2022 was initiated with the arrival of the procession and the lighting of the traditional oil lamp.

Dr. Sanath Akmeemana, President of Sri Lanka Menopause Society, carried out the word of welcome. Dr. Kunle Adeniyi, the honorable chief guest, and all the other eminent guests were warmly welcomed by his speech.

The inauguration ceremony of 21st Annual Academic Sessions of Menopause Society of Sri Lanka was concluded with the vote of thanks presented by Dr. Madura Jayawardane, Secretary of Menopause Society of Sri Lanka